Tags

, , , ,

I arrived in France exactly two months from today. I cannot believe I have already been here this long! I have been VERY busy between work and school. I am so happy to have made many friends already 🙂 In Rouen I met two girls from the university. One is a Chinese student named Viki, and the other is an au pair and student like me. Her name is Anita and she is from Austria. We already share a close bond because we are all each other has in France! We have so much in common, and love to socialize and go out on the town on weekends. It is SO much fun. Everyone in Rouen is very welcoming. Even with the language barrier, it is easy to make friends here.

Image

Viki, me, and Anita in Paris

Besides my friends in Rouen, I also have connected with many au pairs in the Paris area. I love meeting other au pairs because like myself, we are all so excited to meet new people and explore new places! We even have a trip to Brussels Belgium planned for my birthday weekend. It is already booked, and as of right now there are at least 14 of us going! We are staying in a really fun hostel in a great location. We are going to see all the main tourist attractions, eat Belgium waffles and chocolate of course, and then check out the night life 🙂

Image

 International au pairs! Nationalities: Mexican, Chinese, American, Austrian, British, Mexican

This photo was taken of about half of the girls that went to the meet up I scheduled in Paris. I arranged the meet up to give everyone information on the trip to Brussels, and to plan and book it. We met at a Starbucks. Once the meeting was over we decided to walk around Paris. It was a beautiful day and actually very warm!

Image

 We saw a fashion shoot taking place! The models and outfits were beautiful. It was so cool to see!

Image

 I would love to work on these type of fashion shoots!

Image

Le Pont (bridge) de l’Archevêché

Image

This bridge is typically referred to as “The Love Bridge” because of the tradition for couples in love to take a lock, write their names on it, attach it to the chain links, and then throw the key into the seine. This is supposed to symbolize their everlasting love. This is just another reason why Paris is known as the city of love! The au pairs and I all laughed about how we are going to come back here before the end of the year with our future French boyfriends 😉

Image

You can never have too many pictures of the Eiffel Tower!

Image

Me and Anita taking another cliche picture. We are such tourists 🙂

Image

In front of the Arc De Triomphe

Image

^ Café Gourmand… it is a very popular item served at most cafes. it includes a coffee and three mini desserts. It is just the right amount to satisfy your sweet tooth 🙂

It was Viki’s birthday this past week and we celebrated back in Rouen

Image

Anita and I bought her the most delicious chocolate mouse cake from one of the best chocolate shops 🙂

Image

It looked so beautiful, we did not even want to cut it because it was like ruining art… but OH MY GOD it was heaven ❤

Image

The birthday girl cutting her cake 🙂

Image

Au pairs Irene (Italian) and Anita (Austrian) enjoying the party food!

Image

Viki and I on the beautiful Rue de Gros Horloge. We are walking to a local pub. we had an awesome time once again!

Well this is all I have time to write for now. It is kind of an unorganized post, but it is a much requested update! I plan on posting about Rouen and its culture and history soon 🙂

