Tags

, , , , , ,

I am flying to France today! I honestly cannot believe I am leaving. The feeling is surreal. It seems like just yesterday it was February when I found out I got the job as an au pair. For those new to my blog (and my life), if you haven’t found out already, I am going to be an au pair in Rouen starting tomorrow when I arrive, and until the end of July 2013. I will be in France for almost a year. I will be looking after three little girls ages 7, 5, and 2. I am also going to be taking french classes at the Universite De Rouen. I have weekends off, and will spend most of my free time in Paris!

Image

It is pretty crazy to think that I have never been on a vacation or traveled much at all in my life, and now here I am packing my bags and moving to a foreign country. I love spontaneity. I can’t deal with the same routine day-to-day life. I need change. Traveling is a true passion of mine and I must make every effort to see as much of the world as I can!

This past year I have been planning and saving for this adventure in my life. Though there were more than a few bumps in the road along the way, nothing is going to stop me from setting out on what I want to do. My whole life I have been so afraid of people’s judgements and expectations. The fear of failing has stopped me from attempting to pursue many of my ambitions. I have come to the realization that just because negativity surrounds myself where I am now (New Jersey), that doesn’t mean that I have to be trapped by it forever. France is my escape. It’s a positive start to a new life full of new places and new people.

I will be working most of the time and I know it’s not all fun and games. Being an au pair is not a glamorous job. I am sure I am going to break down and cry the first week! The language barrier is going to be my biggest challenge. I hope I catch on very quickly!

Image

I tried packing as little as possible, but I somehow managed to pack four suitcases. I am moving after all!

Image

My friends were at the beach so I decided to walk up and take one last picture in my hometown. It is so windy today! I have lived here my whole life, and it is going to be such a culture shock living abroad. I am so excited though!

I am flying out of New York City and I have a layover in Iceland. I should arrive in Paris around 1 pm 🙂

