Tags

, , , , ,

Image

I had an appointment at the French Consulate yesterday in New York City. My best friend Jess and I took the bus from New Jersey and arrived in the city around 10 am. The consulate is conveniently located in the beautiful Upper East Side on 5th Avenue. It was directly across the street from Central Park!

Image

Since my appointment was at 11:30, Jess and I decided to hang around Central Park to kill some time. It was beyond beautiful! I forgot how huge the park actually is. When I was walking through it, I felt like I wasn’t even in NYC because it was so peaceful. It’s crazy to have such contrasting opposites so close to one another. It really is like being in two different worlds!

Image

Image

ImageAfter spending almost an hour in Central Park, we made our way back to the French Consulate for my appointment. Jess unfortunately wasn’t allowed to enter the building with me, and she had to wait for me to be done. I WAS SO MAD! The security guard warned us that on average it takes about an hour and a half! I felt so bad for her. If I had known it was going to take so much time and she wouldn’t be allowed to be with me, I would have had her just meet me in the city later. Luckily Jess preoccupied herself by walking about 20 blocks and going shopping. So typical of her!

Everything went smoothly at the French Consulate thank god! I totally thought I was going to forget something. I was kind of nervous talking to the workers there. They were obviously all French. The one french guy was pretty rude to everyone. One girl almost cried because she didn’t have the right paper work and he yelled at her. The other french guy was my age and really nice, but he definitely thought I was the dumbest person ever. He asked me if I could speak french and I said barely. Then he started speaking french to me and I was like uhm I got like two words out of that sentence. And they kept speaking French to each other and then English to me. They were probably calling me a stupid American girl! Oh well… at least it is over and done with!

Image

Once the appointment was over, I walked from 5th Avenue and 74th Street to 3rd Avenue and 54th Street where Jess was shopping. Along the way I was walking down Park Avenue and then turned down this street in the picture above. The houses are so beautiful! It is my dream to live in something like this one day. I am definitely going to move to New York once I return from my au pair adventure in France!

Jess and I were starving by the time we met up so we found a sushi restaurant nearby called Haru. We each had a glass of Riesling and of course sushi. It was really good but the service was awful!

Jess is also going to be an au pair, but in London. Before we left New York we both made sure to buy souvenirs for our host families! I bought my family four mugs, three mini snow globes, three I ❤ NY bears, two magnets, two t-shirts for the eldest girls, and five postcards! I am also going to get plenty of souvenirs from my hometown. I can’t wait to give them their gifts. I hope they like it all 🙂

